unt health science centerThe University of North Texas Health Science Center, often referred to as the UNT Health Science Center (UNTHSC), is a graduate-level institution of the University of North Texas System. It was inaugurated in 1970 in the Cultural District of Fort Worth, Texas, and now provides direct patient care for the citizens of Tarrant County. It’s estimated that the UNT Health Science Center local economic impact is more than $600 million annually.

The UNT Health Science Center offers a wide range of patient services, divided into different health clinics and specialties, such as: Allergy, Asthma, & Immunology; Alliance;  Center for Sleep Medicine; Family Medicine; Internal Medicine; Obstetrics/Gynecology Clinic;  Orthopaedics; Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine; Osteoporosis Clinic; Pediatrics; Physical Therapy; Psychiatry; and Surgery.

UNT Health Science Center is composed by five different schools: the Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine (TCOM), the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences (GSBS), the School of Public Health (SPH), the School of Health Professions (SHP), which includes the Physician Assistant Studies and the Physical Therapy Programs, and the new UNT System College of Pharmacy, which just recently opened in 2013.


Read the latest updates about the UNT Health Science Center’s College of Pharmacy:

[feed url=”http://bionews-tx.com/news/news-tags/unt-system-college-of-pharmacy/feed” number=”3″ ]


UNTHSC-College-of-Pharmacy-studentsDegrees Awarded by the UNT Health Science Center Schools

  • The Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine: Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine, DO, established in 1970.
  • Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences: Master of Science in Biomedical Sciences, MS, established in 1993; and Doctor of Philosophy in Biomedical Sciences, PhD, established in 1993;
  • School of Public Health: Master of Public Health, MPH, established in 1996; and Doctor of Public Health, DrPH, established in 1999.
  • Master of Health Administration, MHA, established in 2009; Doctor of Philosophy in Public Health, PhD, established in 2011.
  • School of Health Professions: Master of Physician Assistant Studies, MPAS, established in 2000; and Doctor of Physical Therapy, DPT, established in 2010.
  • UNT System College of Pharmacy: Doctor of Pharmacy, PharmD, (pending). 

Centers and Institutes at the University of North Texas Health Science Center

In addition to comprising the five major schools listed above, the UNT Health Science Center manages a diverse list of Centers and Institutes that collaborate and complement the school’s research, treatment, and educational operations. These include:

UNT-healthsciencecenterThe UNT Health Science Center by numbers

Located on a 33-acre campus in Fort Worth’s Cultural District, the UNT Health Science Center has a $220 million annual budget and adds close to $600 million to Fort Worth’s economy every year. It has a combined faculty of more than 400 individuals, a staff of over 1,400 and about 750 part-time and adjunct faculty from other institutions as well as from the community.

The U.S. News & World Report rankings for 2014 lists the UNT Health Science Center 15th in the Rural Medicine category, 17th  in Family Medicine and 31st place in Primary Care. The center was also nominated as one of the Top 20 Medical Schools for Hispanics, by the Hispanic Business magazine. The Annals of Internal Medicine, awarded UNT Health Science Center as the best in Texas for social mission.


Read the latest news about the UNT Health Science Center:

[feed url=”http://bionews-tx.com/news/news-category/unt-health-science-center/feed” number=”10″ ]