4 Texas Scientists Among AFOSR’s Young Investigator Research Program Grants

AFOSRThe Texas research community has a long, proven track record of successful collaboration with the U.S. military. Biotech and research hubs in San Antonio, El Paso, and even Dallas continue to work productively with the military to develop new treatments and technologies for soldiers that ultimately impact public health as well. Now, in a news release, the U.S. Air Force Office of Scientific Research has announced that 4 of the 42 scientists and engineers selected in this year’s Young Investigator Research Program hail from Texas academic research institutions.

The Texas-based recipients and their anticipated research areas are:

  • Dr. Zhiqiang Lin, University of Texas at Dallas, Towards Fundamental and Binary-Centric Techniques for Kernal Malware Defense
  • Dr. Majid Minary-Jolandan, University of Texas at Dallas, Lessons from Bone to Bioinspired Tough and Self-Remodeling Aerospace Materials
  • Dr. David Robertson, University of Texas at El Paso, Synthesis of 3D-printable Polymer Matrix Composites
  • Dr. William Anderson, Baylor University, Turbulent Boundary Layer Flows Over Sharp Aerodynamic Drag Transitions

These four researchers find themselves in elite company: of the 234 proposals submitted to the AFOSR this year seeking a portion of the $15.5 million in research funding, only 42 scientists from 32 research institutions from around the U.S. were selected.

The YIP award is open only to scientists and engineers at U.S. research institutions who received their Ph.D. or equivalent degrees in the last five years, and who have already demonstrated exceptional ability and promise in their fields of research. The idea behind the program is to fund and support the best and brightest researchers and foster innovative science and engineering research, essentially building early, productive links between young investigators and the Air Force mission.

The 234 proposals covered a wide range of research topics related to the Air Force’s needs, including Dynamical Systems and Control, Quantum and Non-Equilibrium Processes, Information, Decision and Complex Networks, Complex Materials and Devices, and Energy, Power and Propulsion. AFOSR officials select proposals based on the evaluation criteria listed in the broad agency announcement. Those selected will receive the grants over a 3 year period.


About Mike Nace

Mike Nace
Mike Nace is the Editor-in-Chief of BioNewsTexas. He regularly covers corporate and political news pertaining to the Texas biotech sector.
Scroll To Top